Jacob T. Levy is Tomlinson Professor of Political Theory in the Department of Political Science at McGill University. He is also an affiliate member of the Department of Philosophy, a member of the McGill Centre for Human Rights and Legal Pluralism and of the Groupe de Recherche Interuniversitaire en Philosophie Politique, and founder anc coordinator of the Research Group on Constitutional Studies. His areas of research include the history of liberal thought; pluralism and associations; multiculturalism and nationalism; federalism; the rights of indigenous peoples; constitutional theory and jurisprudence; and early modern political thought.

He is the author of The Multiculturalism of Fear (Oxford University Press, 2000), the coeditor of Colonialism and Its Legacies (Lexington Press, 2011) and Nomos: Federalism and Subsidiarity (New York University Press, forthcoming) and of articles including "Federalism Liberalism, and the Separation of Loyalties," American Political Science Review; "Not so Novus an Ordo: Constitutions Without Social Contracts," Political Theory; "Beyond Publius: Montesquieu, Liberal Republicanism, and the Small-Republic Thesis, History of Political Thought, and "Liberal Jacobinism," Ethics. A more complete list of his academic writings can be found here.

He received his AB from Brown Unversity (Phi Beta Kappa, magna cum laude) with honors in Political Science, his MA and PhD in Politics from Princeton University, and an LL.M. from the University of Chicago Law School. He has been a National Science Foundation graduate fellow and a Fulbright Scholar at the University College, University of New South Wales, Australia, and has received fellowships from the Social Philosophy and Policy Center, the Earhart Foundation, and the Mellon Foundation New Directions program. Graduate students whose completed dissertations he has advised include:
As chair:
Leigh Jenco, 2007. “Individuals, Institutions, and Political Change: The Political Theory of Zhang Shizhao.” Assistant Professor of Political Science, National University of Singapore. Winner, 2008 APSA Leo Strauss Award for best dissertation in political theory.
Victor Muñiz-Fraticelli, 2008. “The Structure of Pluralism.” Assistant Professor of Law and Political Science, McGill University.

As committee member:
Deborah Boucoyannis, 2005. “Lands, Courts, and Parliaments: The Hidden Sinews of Power in the Emergence of Constitutionalism.” Winner, APSA Ernst Haas Best Dissertation Award in European Politics and Seymour Martin Lipset Best Dissertation Award from the Society for Comparative Research. Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Virginia.
Chad Cyrenne, 2005. “From Fox to Hedgehog and Back Again: Political Liberalism from John Locke to Isaiah Berlin.”
Yasmin Dawood, 2007. “Judicializing Democracy: Power, Politics, and Constitutional Design.” Assistant Professor of Law, University of Toronto.
Hee-Kang Kim, 2005. “Women's Luck? Women's Choice? Toward a Feminist Theory of Equality.” Assistant Professor, Kyunghee University.
Joon-Suk Kim, 2005.“Making States Federatively: Alternative Routes of State Formation in Late Medieval and Early Modern Europe.” Winner, Federalism and Intergovernmental Relations section of APSA’s Anderson Prize for best dissertation. Lecturer, Seoul National University.
Emily Nacol, 2007. "Dimensions of Risk in Early Modern British Political Thought." Postdoctoral fellow, Brown University Political Theory Project.
Jennifer Rubenstein, 2005. “Just Samaritans? The Politics and Ethics of International Private Aid.” Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Virginia.
Melvin Schut, 2007. “Tocqueville’s Cause.”
Gopika Solanki, 2007. “Adjudication in Religious Family Laws: Cultural Accommodation, Legal Pluralism, and Women’s Rights in India.” Assistant Professor of Political Science, Carleton University.